top of page

Sat, 08 Apr



NAFA 85th Anniversary Celebration Concert

NAFA and The Philharmonic Orchestra present a celebratory concert featuring Prokofiev's second Violin Concerto and Fifth Symphony, and a new commission by Zechariah Goh.

Registration is closed
See other events
NAFA 85th Anniversary Celebration Concert
NAFA 85th Anniversary Celebration Concert

Time & Location

08 Apr 2023, 7:30 pm SGT

Singapore, 11 Empress Pl, #01-02, Singapore 179558

About the event

Under the direction of Artistic Director Lim Yau, and in partnership with The Philharmonic Orchestra Singapore, the NAFA Orchestra presents Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5, a piece described by esteemed conductor Serge Koussevitzky to be “the greatest musical event in many, many years” in the Time magazine in November 1945.

Zhu Zunzun, Grand Prize Winner of the NAFA Concerto Competition 2022/2023, is the soloist in Prokofiev’s lyrical and virtuosic Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63.

Opening the concert is the world premiere of a specially-commissioned work by Dr Zechariah Goh, recipient of the 2014 NAFA Distinguished Alumni Medal and 2003 National Arts Council Young Artist Award, and Head of Composition at the NAFA School of Music.

Zechariah Goh: Tableaux de Nanyang (World Premiere)

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63

Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major, Op. 100

Lim Yau, Conductor

Zhu Zunzun, Violin solo

NAFA Orchestra

Performers for Tableaux de Nanyang:

Sunny Wong, Erhu (Head of Chinese Instrumental Studies)

Nicholas Ong, Piano (Head of Keyboard Studies)

Tan Wee-Hsin, Viola (Head of Strings)

Jessica Chen, Soprano (Head of Vocal Studies)

Joost Flach, Oboe (Head of Winds)

Lin Juan, Cello (Adjunct Lecturer)

Eugene Toh, Percussion (Adjunct Lecturer)

Ryan Yee, Violin (Alumnus)

Share this event

bottom of page